Larkin wins Sid Watson Award, MacDonald claims Ed Jeremiah Award

More news about: Colby | UMass Boston

Compiled by staff --

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. -- UMass Boston senior forward Colin Larkin has been named the 2018 Sid Watson Award winner, it was announced at the Frozen Four Banquet on Thursday night.  The Sid Watson Award, presented annually by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA), is awarded to the best Division III men's player in the country.


The award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

Larkin posted 24 goals, 22 assists and 46 points this season, and finished his career with a line of 64-84-148 in 111 career games. His point totals went up each season as did his honors. He a two-time NEHC Player of the Year, two-time first team All American, and also received the 2018 Joe Concannon Award.

"Everyone has seen what Colin has accomplished on the ice, including being the first UMass Boston player ever to sign an NHL contract (with the Edmonton Oilers)," said UMass Boston head coach Peter Belisle. "Yet Colin's character is what truly sets him apart. A young man of integrity, compassion, courage, and leadership who uses his talents to enrich, empower, and encourage others to emulate his example.

"When Colin entered as a freshman, the heckling from the other teams about 'not being as good as his brother' (NHL'er Dylan) began immediately and only intensified as his career went on. In the face of all the extra attention, Colin never took a retaliation penalty and handled himself with the utmost class, letting his play do the talking for him. Even unbiased NHL scouts took notice of Colin's ability to play through an awful lot."

Larkin also has volunteered with the Special Olympics, Read for the Record, and last summer ran the Larkin Summer Hockey School in his hometown of Waterford, Mich. Colin is set to graduate on-time with a degree in Marketing from the College of Management.

The runner-up for this year's award was Tanner Karty, a junior forward from UW-Stevens Point.



For leading Colby College into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockley Championships, Blaise MacDonald has been named winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. The Mules will meet St. Norbert College in the NCAA Semifinals at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY, on Friday night at 6:30 p.m.

MacDonald is the former head coach of Niagara University and UMass Lowell. He was the founding coach of Niagara's varsity hockey program, leading the Purple Eagles into Division I hockey in their third year. In 1999-2000, he led Niagara to a mark of 30-8-4 and was voted College Hockey America Coach of the Year. MacDonald won 145 games during his decade at UMass-Lowell.

A native of Billerica, Mass., MacDonald, was a four-year letterwinner at Rochester Institute of Technology, graduating in 1985. He helped lead RIT to NCAA Division III championships in 1983 and 1985. MacDonald was an All-American defensemen and was inducted into the RIT Hall of Fame in 1991. At the time of his graduation, he held RIT records for career assists (106) and points (119) by a defensemen. MacDonald and his wife, Carol, are the parents of four children – sons Cam, Joseph, and Jacob, and daughter Carly. Cam plays for his father at Colby.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. MacDonald was assisted this year by Chris Hall and Mike Latendresse. The runner-up for the Jeremiah Award was Zech Klann of Salve Regina University.

MacDonald and his staff will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, April 25. 


1993 Frank Cirone UW-Stevens Point
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury
1997 Steve Toll RIT
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich
2002 Jerry Galway RIT
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst
2010 David Martinson Gust. Adolphus
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas
2016 Jamie Murray Babson
2017 Evan Buitehnuis Hamilton
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston


1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Caniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, UW-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, UW-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, UW-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, SUNY Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst
2016 Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
Chris Schultz, SUNY Geneseo
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby




No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.