Sheeran, Bolding claim AHCA honors.

More news about: Norwich | Plattsburgh State

Compiled by staff --

ADRIAN, Mich. -- Plattsburgh senior forward Melissa Sheeran, a three-time All-American, can now add National Player of the Year to her list of honors. On Thursday, Sheeran was unveiled as the 2018 winner of the Laura Hurd Division III National Player of the Year Award, as selected by the American Hockey Coaches' Association, during the NCAA championship banquet in Northfield, Vermont.

A native of Schaghticoke, NY, Sheeran was a prolific playmaking forward in the Cardinals' attack during her senior campaign, with 29 assists to go with 18 goals for a total of 47 points for the season. She ranks tied for seventh in the nation in points per game, and is third in assists per game. She was this season's NEWHL Player of the Year. 

2018 AHCA/CCM Women's All-Americans

In her career, Sheeran has been a consistently unstoppable force in the Cardinal lineup while helping to lead Plattsburgh to three of their four consecutive national titles, and positioning them for a possible fifth this weekend. For her career she has posted 96 goals and 88 assists for 184 points in 110 career games played, and is a three time first team AHCA All-American pick. 

"Melissa has become a complete player in her time as a Cardinal, going from a one-dimensional goal scorer to a selfless team player who competes in all three zones. Our team captain and a strong role model for her teammates, she is one of the hardest working players on the team. Melissa is always encouraging and positive; she is not only our best player but is a humble team leader," Plattsburgh head coach Kevin Houle said. "Melissa is highly respected and admired on campus and within the department. Not only because of her accomplishments, but more so because of how she treats people and her humble outlook."

She becomes the fourth Cardinal to win the award, and the first since Sydney Aveson in 2014. The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.


Norwich's Mark Bolding has been named the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Coach of the Year. Bolding earns the award after piloting the Cadets to a 25-1-3 record this season, the NEHC regular season and tournament titles, and the top overall seed in this year's NCAA tournament. 

Bolding's charges have been virtually unstoppable this season, especially as of late in the postseason. During their 2018 playoff run, the NEHC champions have outscored their opposition 29-3 across four games. The playoff success exhibited by Bolding's team has continued one of the longest unbeaten streaks in the country, as the Cadets have managed to go undefeated in their last sixteen games. They also finished a perfect 14-0 in conference play this season in Bolding's 11th season. 

In his illustrious career, Bolding holds one national championship, which he won in 2011, and 243 career wins as he prepares to lead the Cadets into their first Frozen Four weekend on home ice. This is Bolding's fourth time winning National Coach of the Year with his first three coming in consecutive seasons from 2010 to 2012. The four awards places him second all time behind only Plattsburgh's Kevin Houle, who has six awards all time. 

Hamline's Natalie Darwitz was the runner-up. 


2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira
2016 Michelle Greeneway Lake Forest
2017 Dani Sibley UW-River Falls
2018 Melissa Sheeran Plattsburgh
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira
2003 Michelle Amidon, Bowdoin
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2015 Dean Jackson, Elmira
2016 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2017 Chad Davis, Adrian
2018 Mark Bolding, Norwich



No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.