McDonald wins Sid Watson Award, Krueger claims Ed Jeremiah Award

More news about: SUNY Geneseo | UW-Stevens Point

AHCA Release --

STEVENS POINT, Wis. -- Devin McDonald, a senior goaltender from Geneseo and Calgary, AB, has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2019 winner of the Sid Watson Award, symbolic of the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player. McDonald has compiled a record of 23-1-2 with a miniscule 1.12 goals against average and a .920 save percentage.


Behind McDonald's superb goaltending, coach Chris Schultz and the Knights captured the SUNYAC championship with a 4-3 win over Oswego on March 2 and opened NCAA play with an 8-2 win over Manhattanville this past Saturday. Next up is a 3:00 semifinal match-up with Norwich on Friday afternoon in Stevens Point, WI.

McDonald has been a factor from his freshman year when he played 25 games and earned Third Team All SUNY recognition, an honor he also received last year as a junior. Entering the NCAA Tournament, his career numbers in 97 games are a 2.05 GAA, a .921 save percentage and a win-loss record of 70-13-13. This year he was named a First Team CCM/AHCA All American.

"Devin has established himself over the course of four seasons as one of the best players in college hockey," said Geneseo head coach Chris Schultz. "He has a tremendous passion for the game and has earned himself the reputation of rising to the occasion in the big moments. With Devin in goal, it has solidified our defense first mind set, which has allowed us to get on the offense, have the ability to play creatively, and be confident that if something breaks down, and we need a save, that Devin will bail us out. Devin's worth to our program cannot go understated. Beyond his on ice importance, Devin has also become a pillar within our tight-knit community and has quickly become a fan favorite among that community, Jr. Ice Knight program, and within our on campus community itself."

The runner-up for this year's Sid Watson Award was Brady Fleurent, a senior forward from the University of New England and Biddeford, ME.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Sid Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.



For leading the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockley Championships, Tyler Krueger has been named winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the CCM/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. The Pointers will meet Hobart in the NCAA Semifinals at K.B. Willett Ice Arena in Stevens Point, Wisconsin, on Friday night at 7:00 p.m.

In his first season as head coach without the interim tag, Tyler Krueger has guided the Pointers to the only unbeaten record in the country this season (27-0-2). The current 29-game unbeaten streak is the longest in program history. He was named Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year after leading UWSP to its third-straightregular season title and an unblemished 8-0-0 record in league play. His career record over two seasons at UWSP is 48-6-5.

Under his tutelage, Krueger's goaltender, sophomore Connor Ryckman, set a program single-season record with his 24th win on Saturday. In 1,749 minutes of action this season, Krueger's team has trailed for just 34 minutes.

Krueger was hired as head coach on May 31, 2018. He served as interim head coach for the 2017-18 season and led the Pointers to the Frozen Four. UWSP won the regular season WIAC title with an undefeated 6-0-2 record and he led the Pointers to an NCAA Tournament road win at Adrian in the second round to advance to Lake Placid.

He spent the previous three seasons on the staff of former head coach Chris Brooks, most recently as associate head coach. He was a pivotal part of the Pointers' three-year run to the National Championship game in 2014, 2015 and 2016. From behind the bench, Krueger helped UWSP win its first WIAC Tournament title and fifth National Championship in 2016.

Prior to joining the coaching staff, Krueger was a four-year member of the Pointers hockey team. He skated in 79 games as a Pointer with two goals, 15 assists and a plus/minus of +34 for his career. He captained the 2014 team that reached the NCAA title game. A Stevens Point native, Krueger graduated from UWSP in 2014 with a bachelor of science degree in health promotion and wellness.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Krueger was assisted this year by Evan Dixon and Zach Badalamenti. The runner-up for the Jeremiah Award was Chris Schultz of Geneseo, receipient of this award in both 2014 and 2016.

Krueger and his staff will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, May 1.



1993 Frank Cirone UW-Stevens Point
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury
1997 Steve Toll RIT
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich
2002 Jerry Galway RIT
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst
2010 David Martinson Gust. Adolphus
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas
2016 Jamie Murray Babson
2017 Evan Buitehnuis Hamilton
2018 Colin Larkin UMass Boston
2019 Devin McDonald Geneseo


1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Caniff, Massachusetts
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley Jr., Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State
Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, UW-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, UW-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, UW-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego State
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert
2012 Jack Arena, Amherst
2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014 Chris Schultz, SUNY Geneseo
2015 Jack Arena, Amherst
2016 Peter Belisle, UMass Boston
Chris Schultz, SUNY Geneseo
2017 Mike McShane, Norwich
2018 Blaise MacDonald, Colby
2019 Tyler Krueger, UW-Stevens Point




No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.