Dawes shuffles to Stevenson

More news about: Neumann

Compiled by D3hockey.com Staff
Owings Mills, Md.- Dominick Dawes has always been a groundbreaker in his career as a head coach. In fact, he did it right from the start. 

In 2008, Dawes, just a few short days into his tenure as an assistant at Utica, was given the opportunity to replace Phil Roy, who had just departed for Merrimack, as Neumann's head coach. While Dawes took his first head coaching job in short order, just weeks before his team was to begin play, the results on the ice that season quickly catapulted him to college hockey immortality. Dawes led the Knights to uncharted territory, posting a school-best record of 21-9-2 and leading Neumann on a remarkable run to the 2009 NCAA Division III Ice Hockey national championship, the first and only title in school history. 

Seven years later, Dawes will once again enter uncharted territory. Until 2016, the state of Maryland will have never had an NCAA Division III men's hockey program to call its own. When that changes next fall, Dawes will be behind the bench. Stevenson University has announced that Dominick Dawes has accepted the position of head men's ice hockey coach.

In his seven years with Neumann, Dawes rolled up a record of 107-62-25 behind the bench to become Neumann's winningest head coach. He won two ECAC West titles in 2009 and 2013, and was just a goal away from a third in 2015 before the Knights dropped a 2-1 overtime decision to Hobart in Geneva, NY. His squad made a second appearance in the NCAA tournament in 2011, losing a 2-1 opening round tilt to Bowdoin. Dawes was also the 2009 Ed Jeremiah Award winner as Division III National Coach of the Year. Prior to Neumann, Dawes spent two seasons as an assistant to longtime Hamilton College coach Phil Grady. 

As a player, Dawes advanced to the championship site in three of his four years at Norwich University. His Cadets won the 2003 national championship on home ice, which makes Dawes one of just two NCAA Division III coaches to win a national title as a player and head coach. St. Norbert's Tim Coghlin, who has won four as a coach and one as a player with the 1989 UW-Stevens Point Pointers, is the other.

The Mustangs will begin play in the 2016-17 season, and will do so as part of an expanded ECAC West conference that will include fellow newcomer Lebanon Valley.


No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.