Sydney Aveson wins Laura Hurd award; Women's All-Americans announced

More news about: Plattsburgh State

For immediate release -- American Hockey Coaches Association

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — Sydney Aveson, a senior goaltender from Plattsburgh State and West Covina, California, has been named the winner of the 2014 Laura Hurd Award, given by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Player of the Year. Aveson, a three-time All American and the ECAC West Player of the Year, has posted spectacular goaltending numbers this year: 20-1-1, 0.54 GAA and .971 save percentage

Sydney Aveson becomes the second straight (and third overall) Plattsburgh player to win the Laura Hurd award.
Photo: Dave Harwig for

She will lead her Cardinals against the University of St. Thomas in Friday's first semifinal game (3:30 p.m.) at the 2014 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

"Sydney Aveson has been the backbone of our team over the past three seasons," said Plattsburgh head coach Kevin Houle. "Syd has saved her best for last. This season she leads the nation in goals against average, save percentage and shutouts. She has broken several team and national records throughout this season. Sydney is also an outstanding individual, majoring in expeditionary studies. She is the only athlete at Plattsburgh to make it through the program, holding a GPA of 3.50.

"Syd is focused on her studies as she is on her play. She is the most competitive goalie I have ever coached. Sydney is active in the community, as she has volunteered at the Tramati Brain Injury Center on campus. She has also volunteered her time with the local youth programs as well as the soup kitchen here in Plattsburgh. She excels and gives 100% to whatever she does."

Aveson is the third Plattsburgh player to win this award, following Danielle Blanchard (current Plattsburgh assistant coach) in 2008 and Teal Gove last year. She is also just the second goaltender to win the award. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award was Tori Charron, a senior forward from Norwich University and Tecumseh, Ontario.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.



Laura Hurd Award Winners

2000  Slyvia Ryan, F, Middlebury
2001  Michelle Labbe, F, Middlebury
2002  Sarah Moe, F, Gustavus Adolphus
2003  Angela Kapus, F/D, Middlebury
2004  Molly Wasserman, F, Williams
2005  Laura Hurd, F, Elmira
2006  Emily Quizon, F, Middlebury
2007  Andrea Peterson, D, Gustavus Adolphus
2008  Danielle Blanchard, F, Plattsburgh
2009  Kayla Coady, F, Elmira
2010  Isabel Iwachiw, G, Trinity
2011  Sarah Dagg, F, RIT
2012  Julie Fortier, F, Norwich
2013  Teal Gove, F, Plattsburgh
2014  Sydney Aveson, G, Plattsburgh


Seven of the 24 players honored as 2014 CCM DIVISION III WOMEN’S HOCKEY ALL-AMERICANS will compete in the NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, N.Y. this weekend.Plattsbugh State boasts three selections, followed by two from Norwich University and one each from the University of St. Thomas and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

This year's two squads hail from nine states, three provinces and four countries. Ontario leads the way with four selections.  

The CCM HOCKEY ALL-AMERICAN ICE HOCKEY TEAMS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide. 


First Team
Sydney Aveson, Sr., Plattsburgh State
Alise Riedel, Sr., St. Thomas
Brooke Wilgosh, Jr., Elmira
Laurel Hill, Sr., St. Norbert
Hannah Beattie, Fr., Williams
Alix Vallee, Sr., Adrian
Cristina Bravi, Sr., Williams
Michelle Greenway, So., Lake Forest
Tori Charron, Sr., Norwich
Cristina Masten, Sr., Bethel
Ashley Ryan, Jr., Elmira
Cassandra Salmen, Sr., UW-Stevens Point

Second Team
Paula Stephens, Jr., Castleton State
Janna Beilke-Skoug, Jr., UW-Stevens Point
Allie Era, Sr., Plattsburgh State
Alex Blair, Jr., St, Scholastica
Marie-Philip Guay, Sr., Norwich 
Alex Stensland, So., Lake Forest
Nicoline Jensen, So., Castleton State
Katie Batters, Sr., UW-River Falls
Tanis Lamoureaux, Sr., Elmira
Kelsey Kusch, Jr., Adrian
Shannon Stewart, Jr., Plattsburgh State
Nina Waidacher, Jr., St. Scholastica




No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.