Neumann claims second ECACW playoff title

More news about: Neumann

ASTON, Pa. – The Neumann University men's ice hockey team won its second ECAC West Championship by a 3-0 score over Manattanville College on Saturday evening.

Braely Torris made 22 saves in net and was named the Most Outstanding Players for the Tournament. Joining Torris on the All-Tournament team is Scott Farrell, Steve Gervaisand Harley Garrioch from Neumann and Alex Scola, Anton Backlin and Brendan Turner from Manhattanville.

The first two periods were quiet and all the scoring came in the third period. Gervais put the Knights up 1-0 6:12 into the third period off assists from Scott Elkow and Mike Cauley.

Casey Rogers scored with under five minutes left in regulation to give Neumann some breathing room. Chris Bournazos and Jordan Zalba drew the assists. Jake Kratz netted a shorthanded, empty net goal with 19 seconds left to seal the win and the Championship.

Neumann improves to 19-6-3 on the season. The ECAC West does not have an automatic qualifier for the NCAA tournament, so now the teams will wait until the announcement is made on Sunday night.


No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.