CCC Champs! Nor'easters storm past top-seeded Salve Regina, 6-2

More news about: University of New England

KINGSTON, R.I. – The third-seeded University of New England struck four times in the last 10 minutes of the opening period on the way to a 6-2 victory over top-seeded Salve Regina University in the final of the 2019 Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Men's Ice Hockey Championship on Saturday night at Boss Arena.

The Nor'easters (20-6-2) earn their first automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Championship, and will make a second straight appearance in the national tournament when play begins next Saturday. The 12-team field will be announced Monday morning (10:30 a.m.) on
After falling behind early, UNE took control on goals 63 seconds apart by Jimmy Elser and Ryan Bloom (CCC 1st Team) just past the midway mark of the initial frame. Brendan Donohue and Jeff Eppright added power-play goals for a 4-1 lead after one period.
The Nor'easters were able to kill off a 5-on-3 Seahawks advantage in the second and then Bloom put in a short-handed score to extend the cushion to 5-1 through 40 minutes. Bloom now shares the national lead for goals during the penalty kill (5) -- part of the only team in Division III with double digits in short-handed tallies (13). 

Tyler Seltenreich added power-play goal in the third, temporarily giving SRU its largest deficit (5) of the season.

Brady Fleurent (CCC Player of the Year) contributed three assists in the win. Bloom had two helpers to go with his pair of scores, which established a UNE single-season record at 21 goals. Ben Churchfield (CCC 2nd Team) backstopped the result with 30 saves for the nation's 14th-ranked squad.

Blake Wojtala (CCC Goaltender of the Year) had 45 stops for Salve Regina (18-7-2), which entered the day with the No.12 ranking in the country. The Seahawks received their goals from Kevin Clare and Colin Clapton.

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.